Watch | Why is Arctic Council important to India?


The Arctic Council is a high-level intergovernmental forum that addresses issues faced by governments in the region and the indigenous people of the Arctic. It was formally established in 1996.

The Arctic Council has eight states which include Canada, Denmark, Finland, Norway, Iceland, Russia, Sweden and the United States.

Other countries or national groups are considered observer states.

India is currently an Observer member on the Arctic Council. Recently, the government unveiled India’s Arctic policy document.

It says India aspires to have a permanent presence, more research stations and establish satellite ground stations in the Arctic region

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *